Local anaesthesia and sedation

Taking a concise bulleted approach for fast access to information, the book covers all topics relevant to providing perioperative anesthetic management for the head and neck region. Coverage ranges from equipment, anatomy, physiology, and pharmacology to anesthetizing patients with specific conditions and for specific procedures. Designed for ease of use, the book makes it easy to find information relevant to cases ranging from common to rare.

This book reviews and describes anesthetic management of patients during oral and maxillofacial surgery. It covers applied anatomy of oral and maxillofacial surgery, difficult airway management and anesthetic techniques. The anesthetic management for patients with oral and maxillofacial disorders such as head and neck infection, head and neck injuries, and head and neck malignancy is also discussed.

This concise guide covers differential dental specialties including paediatric and special needs patients. Chapters summarise the medications used in sedation, including dosages, warnings, and reversal agents, and sections on nitrous oxide discuss how to administer it without harm to the provider. Minimising pain and anxiety for patients is as important a goal in dentistry as providing a functional and esthetic smile, and this concise reference book provides best practices to achieve it.

This book provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of local anesthetics, including anatomic considerations, pharmacology, armamentarium, injection techniques, indications, contraindications, complications, novel anesthetics formulations, and more. In-depth chapters offer clear criteria and guidelines for patient care, supported by hundreds of evidence-based references. Alongside this, standalone appendixes are hosted on the book's companion website.

This book is a comprehensive guide for dentists on the practical use of midazolam in Pediatric Dentistry. This book covers various aspects of midazolam sedation including pre-operative assessment, case selection, different routes of administration, intraoperative protocol, emergency management and meticulous documentation. It explains the importance of its conjunction with sound fundamentals of non-pharmacological behaviour guidance and good local anaesthetic techniques.

A history of the development of sedation in dental practice sets the stage for understanding the need for a comprehensive preanesthetic evaluation to identify potentially reactive patients prior to treatment. Useful drugs for moderate sedation and reversal agents in the office setting are reviewed to ensure proper perioperative usage. Comprehensive airway management and rescue skills are then documented in detail so that the patient may be properly managed in the event that the sedation progresses beyond the intended level. A key aim is to equip the reader with sufficient knowledge and preparedness to overcome the patient management challenges associated with common and uncommon deviations from intraoperative norms. Finally, for academics there is curriculum development tool.

This clinical handbook is a complete guide to the use of nitrous oxide when performing dental procedures in children. Nitrous oxide offers the easiest and safest form of pharmacological behaviour management in this age group and can help greatly in reducing fear and anxiety toward dentists and dental treatment. In considering a range of clinical scenarios in which nitrous oxide is of value, this book will support clinicians in their daily practice. All aspects are covered, including rationale, basic science, mechanism of action, equipment, scavenging systems, technique, monitoring, safety, toxicity, documentation, and team building. The book is supplemented by videos that will help readers to comprehend the text easily and to perform the technique efficiently and effectively.

This text provides detailed methods to allow the oral and maxillofacial surgeon, anaesthetist and anaesthesiologist to risk stratify patients as well as prevent, recognise and manage the most common anaesthesia related complications. Additionally, it describes how to run an ideal Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) driven megacode, identify differences in paediatric anaesthesia and ideally manage opioid needs of the oral and maxillofacial surgery patient.

Pulpal anaesthesia is a vital part of the delivery of dental care for restorative dentists and endodontists. Administration of local anaesthesia is invariably the first procedure they perform and it affects everything they do thereafter. If the patient is not adequately anesthetized, difficulties inevitably arise. This book will help you successfully anesthetize your patients using the newest technology and drugs available. It presents the rationale, advantages, and limitations of the various anaesthetic agents and routes of administration. A special emphasis is placed on supplemental anaesthetic techniques that are essential to the practice of dentistry.

This chapter provides information regarding anesthetic complications that occur in a dental office-based setting. Along with detailed descriptions, strategies for the prevention and management of these complications will be provided. A prerequisite of this chapter is the basic and fundamental understanding of the administration of local anesthesia using aseptic technique. The clinician is advised to review the patient's medical history thoroughly, obtain additional information regarding the patient's health from other consultants, and record vital signs prior to the administration of local anesthesia, sedatives, and/or general anesthetics.

This chapter aims to illustrate the techniques and reactions of specific anesthetic agents, the issues related to local anesthesia, and the procedures that have been advanced to enhance the patient’s well-being and alleviate discomfort during anesthesia. Relevant publications were identified after searching PubMed databases. Screening of titles and abstracts and extraction of data were conducted, followed by full-text evaluation of the included studies.

This chapter (pp 53-60) covers difficulties in anesthesia, techniques for delivery of anesthesia and highlights pearls of success.

Chapter 3 topics include topical anesthetic, injectable local anesthetics, armamentarium and techniques, behavior guidance and distraction, postoperative instructions and documentation and adverse events.

In this chapter (pp. 377-381), the pharmacology of local anesthetics is discussed, as well as the properties of individual agents including their clinical uses, side effects, and potential complications.

Local anesthesia is an integral part of any procedure to be provided in the clinical setting. This chapter (pp. 68-59) covers local anesthetic agents that are available along with a variety of techniques that should cover any situation that one might incur in the office.

This chapter (pp. 111-129) covers several issues concerning local anesthesia in pediatric dentistry. Sections include equipment and factors relating to local anesthesia, main local anaesthesia techniques, behaviour guidance for administering local anesthesia and complications of local anesthesia.

This chapter (pp. 75-91) reviews some of the key local anesthetic components and techniques available to providers in the pursuit of providing pain-free dental treatment. This includes both mandibular and maxillary injections, testing for pulpal anesthesia, new technology and drug formulations, and the supplemental techniques that may make all the difference for the provider and patient.

Chapter 9 (pp 141-161) of this book aims to discuss factors associated with administering injections and reviews the most commonly used local anesthetic techniques for children.

The aim of this chapter (pp. 129-150) is to introduce the basic pharmacology of local anesthetic agents and to familiarize the reader with the variety of drugs currently available on the market, their unique properties, and potential risks and complications associated with their use.

Chapter 6 of this book discusses anatomic considerations a surgeon should be familiar with as well as the properties and proper use of local anaesthetics during periodontal surgical procedures. This will help the clinician perform a more efficient surgery as well as providing more optimal postoperative healing with fewer complications.