Support @ ADA NDL: Periodontics and gum health: Gum health and periodontal disease

About

This guide provides a range of research and evidence-based resources on periodontics / periodontology* with a focus on gum health and periodontal disease.

*Related subjects of dental implants / implantology, and restorative dentistry are not the focus of this guide, however some resources will be linked to these topics.

Access to the majority of resources requires login to the ADA National Digital Library.

Last updated 13 October 2024

Created 4 August 2024

Books

Following is a selection of books. For more books on this topic use the books subject search: Periodontics

Chronic Desquamative Gingivitis, 2020.
This book offers an comprehensive description of individual dermatologic disease manifesting in the form of chronic desquamative gingivitis. A more specific description of the historical background of this condition, the individual dermatoses associated with it, and the pathology is presented. Treatment methods with demonstrated success are detailed for treating clinicians.
Clinical Cases in Periodontics, 2nd ed., 2022.
The revised edition delivers a comprehensive collection of 43 clinical cases on critical topics within the discipline of periodontology. The book offers a thorough introduction to periodontic examination and diagnosis, including documentation, plaque, and non-plaque induced gingivitis; a comprehensive exploration of non-surgical periodontal therapy, including local anatomic factors contributing to periodontal disease and local drug delivery; practical discussions of periodontal therapy, including gingivectomy and flap osseous surgery In-depth examinations of regenerative therapy, including the treatment of furcation and guided bone regeneration.
Emerging Therapies in Periodontics, 2020.
Through 16 chapters, this book describes emerging therapies that are changing the paradigm in the clinical management of periodontal diseases as well as introducing novel concepts and molecules now being tested in preclinical and clinical models.
Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist with Navigate Advantage Access, 6th ed., 2024.
This 6th edition equips dental hygiene students with modern, evidence-based coverage of periodontal anatomy, the periodontal disease process, and classification of periodontal disease. Using an easy-to-follow, detailed outline format, leading experts in the field provide readers with an accessible account of the complex subject of periodontics.
Gingival Recession Management, 2019.
This book is designed to serve as a clear and concise clinical manual that covers all aspects of the current management of gingival recession, with a particular focus on surgical techniques with the adjunctive use of autogenous tissues or soft tissue substitutes for recession coverage.
Lindhe's Clinical Periodontology and Implant Dentistry, 7th ed., 2022.
This 7th edition integrates the foundational science behind periodontology with practical clinical protocols in two comprehensive volumes, the chapters cover anatomy, microbiology, occlusion trauma, pathology, tissue regeneration, treatment planning protocols, infection control, reconstructive therapy, occlusal and prosthetic therapy, and more.
The Periodontic-Endodontic Interface, 2024
10 chapters cover the embryonic development of teeth, oral pathologies, and the comprehensive management of periodontal and endodontic diseases, including their concurrent occurrences. The book is a rich source of evidence-based data on related pathogens and conditions, supported by illustrative photographs and tables.
Periodontitis and System Diseases, 2021.
This comprehensive book reviews the clinical evidence and biological plausibility of the many systemic diseases that have been linked to periodontitis.
Periodontology, 4th ed., 2021.
This book guides the reader through all essentials in the field of periodontology including the pathology, diagnosis, and treatment of the most common periodontal conditions.
Practical Advanced Periodontal Surgery, 2nd ed., 2020.
The revised edition outlines cutting-edge surgical techniques and digital workflows in periodontology, enriched with clinical photos and video tutorials. This edition introduces new chapters on IV sedation, digital restorative technologies, and post-extraction implant therapies in the esthetic zone, making it an indispensable manual for periodontists and dentists.
Practical Periodontal Diagnosis and Treatment Planning, 2023
This 2nd edition has been updated to reflect the new periodontal disease classification, thoroughly explaining the staging and grading system, comparing the new system to previous system, and discussing how to use the classification in everyday clinical practice. This essential step-by-step guide to integrating digital technologies in surgical implant therapy and prosthetic rehabilitations offers a thorough understanding of the concept of facial sculpture to complement and enhance intra-oral rehabilitation. The book takes an evidence-based approach to diagnosis and treatment, incorporating significant research and clinical experience to best reflect the needs of both patients and clinicians.

Book chapters

Antioxidants in Oral Cavity Disorders. In: Drug Discovery and Design Using Natural Products, 2023
See Chapter 16 (pp. 453-463). The purpose of this chapter is to present the antioxidant effects of natural products on diseases of the oral cavity, caries and periodontitis.
Diabetes and Oral Health. In: The Diabetes Textbook, 2nd ed., 2023
Chapter 54 (pp. 891-904) includes coverage of periodontal disease, including diagnosis and treatment in this medical cohort.
Gingivitis and Periodontitis. In: Diseases of the Oral Mucosa, 2022
The learning objectives associated with this chapter 41 (pp. 435-445) are to: name to frequent causes of periodontal inflammation; know the diagnosis principles of the two most common periodontal diseases; and have an overview about adequate treatment options for gingivitis and periodontal diseases,
Periodontal Diseases in Children and Adolescents, In: Pediatric Dentistry
This chapter (pp. 347-361) covers gingival diseases, periodontitis variants in youth, and mucogingival issues, emphasising etiology, prevention, and treatment. It also updates the classification of periodontal diseases.
Periodontal Infections: Gingivitis and Periodontitis. In: Dental Science for the Medical Professional, 2023
Chapter 8 (pp. 89-93) discusses the dental plaque-induced periodontal diseases, gingivitis and periodontitis.
Pulp and Periodontal Diseases. In: Clinicopathological Correlation of Oral Diseases, 2023.
Section 2 (pp. 15-48) includes two chapters on Pain in an upper back tooth: pulpitis, and Pus discharging from the gum: periodontal disease.

Journals

Specialised journals on topic

Clinical Advances in Periodontics
Full text access via publisher from 01/2011 to present.
Full text access via DOSS 02/2017 to present with a 12-month access delay.
International Journal of Dental Hygiene
Full text access via DOSS from 01/2003 to present with a 12-month access delay.
Full text access via publisher from 01/2003 to 12/2024.
The International Journal of Periodontics & Restorative Dentistry
Full text access available from 01/01/1981 to present
Access via EBSCOhost database: Dentistry & Oral Science Source (DOSS)
Journal of Clinical Periodontology
Full text access via publisher from 01/1997 to present.
Full text access via DOSS 03/1974 to present with a 12-month access delay.
Journal of Periodontology
Full text access via publisher from 01/1997 to present.
Full text access via DOSS from 01/1997 to present with a 12-month access delay.
Periodontology 2000
Full text access via DOSS from 02/2000 to present with a 12-month access delay.
Full text access via publisher from 01/1997 to 12/2024.

Journal articles

Let's talk about gums. ADA News Bulletin, August 2024, Issue 544, 18-22.

Stepping up in 2023. Periodontics is breaking new ground. ADA News Bulletin, February 2023, Issue 527, 16-20.

Association between gingival phenotype and periodontal disease severity—a comparative longitudinal study among patients undergoing fixed orthodontic therapy and invisalign treatment.
Alasiri, M.M., Almalki, A., Alotaibi, S., Alshehri, A., Alkhuraiji, A.A., Thomas, J.T., & Capodiferro, S. (2024, March). Association between Gingival Phenotype and Periodontal Disease Severity—A Comparative Longitudinal Study among Patients Undergoing Fixed Orthodontic Therapy and Invisalign Treatment. Healthcare, 12(6), 656. https://doi.org/10.3390/healthcare12060656
Change in oral hygiene behaviour after non-surgical periodontal therapy – A retrospective analyses
Elkerbout, T.A., Slot, D.E., Rijnen, M.E., van der Weijden, G.A.., & van der Weijden, G.A. (2023, February). Change in oral hygiene behaviour after non‐surgical periodontal therapy – A retrospective analyses. International Journal of Dental Hygiene, 21(1), 259-271. https://doi.org/10.1111/idh.12593
Clinical effects of omega-3 fatty acids supplementation in the periodontal treatment of smokers and non-smokers with periodontitis: a retrospective study
Savran, L., & Sağlam, M. (2024, July 20). Clinical effects of omega-3 fatty acids supplementation in the periodontal treatment of smokers and non-smokers with periodontitis: A retrospective study. Clinical Oral Investigations, 28(8). https://doi.org/10.1007/s00784-024-05835-8
Effectiveness of probiotics compared to antibiotics to treat periodontal disease: Systematic review.
Puzhankara, L., Banerjee, A., Chopra, A., Venkitachalam, R., & Kedlaya, M.N. (2024, July). Effectiveness of probiotics compared to antibiotics to treat periodontal disease: Systematic review. Oral Diseases, 30(5), 2820-2837. https://doi.org/10.1111/odi.14781
Gum health and quality of life—subjective experiences from across the gum health-disease continuum in adults
Broomhead, T., Gibson, B., Parkinson, C., Vettore, M., & Baker, S. (2022, November 18). Gum health and quality of life—subjective experiences from across the gum health-disease continuum in adults. BMC Oral Health, 22(1), 521. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12903-022-02507-5
Impact of oral microbiome in periodontal health and periodontitis: A critical review on prevention and treatment.
Di Stefano, M., Polizzi, A., Santonocito, S., Romano, A., Lombardi, T., Isola, G., & Kajiya, M. (2022, May 5). Impact of Oral Microbiome in Periodontal Health and Periodontitis: A Critical Review on Prevention and Treatment. International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 23(9), 5142. https://doi.org/10.3390/ijms23095142
Impact of oral piercings on periodontal health - A systematic review.
Difloe‐Geisert, J.C., Müller, J.S., Weiger, R., & Walter, C. (2024, February). Impact of oral piercings on periodontal health - A systematic review. International journal of dental hygiene, 22(1), 24-34. https://doi.org/10.1111/idh.12734
Knowledge, attitude, and practice toward self-control of dental plaque among patients with periodontal diseases: A cross-sectional study.
Sun, J., Tong, D., Sun, C., Wang, X., Zuo, Z., Liu, Y., Qi, L., Kong, L., Luan, X., & Meng, J. (2023, September 2). Knowledge, attitude, and practice toward self-control of dental plaque among patients with periodontal diseases: A cross-sectional study. BMC Oral Health, 23(1), 1-10. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12903-023-03352-w
Patient-reported understanding and dentist-reported management of periodontal diseases - a survey: Do you know what gum disease is?
Rana, H., Warnes, B., Davies, M., & West, N.X. (2023, July 28). Patient-reported understanding and dentist-reported management of periodontal diseases - a survey: Do you know what gum disease is?. British Dental Journal, 235(2), 127-131. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41415-023-6055-7
Periodontal disease in down syndrome: Predisposing factors and potential non‐surgical therapeutic approaches
Ghaffarpour, M., Karami‐Zarandi, M., Rahdar, H.A., Feyisa, S.G., & Taki, E. (2024, January). Periodontal disease in down syndrome: Predisposing factors and potential non-surgical therapeutic approaches. Journal of Clinical Laboratory Analysis, 38(1-2), e25002. https://doi.org/10.1002/jcla.25002
Periodontology Part 4: Periodontal disease in children and adolescents
Marchetti, E., Pizzolante, T., Americo, L.M., Bizzarro, S., Quinzi, V., & Mummolo, S. (2022). Periodontology Part 4: Periodontal disease in children and adolescents. European Journal of Paediatric Dentistry, 23(4), 332-335. https://doi.org/10.23804/ejpd.2022.23.04.14
Success of supportive periodontal therapy in periodontitis patients — A retrospective analysis
Schoenmakers, M.G.P., Willems, E.J.S., Slot, D.E., Van der Weijden, G.A., & Van der Weijden, G.A. (2022, May). Success of supportive periodontal therapy in periodontitis patients — A retrospective analysis. International Journal of Dental Hygiene, 20(2), 318-327. https://doi.org/10.1111/idh.12521

Journal articles - special collections

AAP Best Evidence
Collection of best evidence consensus papers from the American Academy of Periodontology. Last updated October 2022.
BDJ: Periodontics (12 April 2024)
This collection of articles from the British Dental Journal is intended as a survey of current practice in the field for clinicians striving for good clinical outcomes, as well as positive outcomes from the patient's perspective. The collection is broken down into sections: patient management and experience, periodontitis and systemic diseases, periodontal diagnosis and the 2017 periodontal classification system, periodontics in practice.
2017 Classification of Periodontal and Peri-implant Diseases and Conditions
This site houses the complete suite of reviews, case definition papers, and consensus reports.
Journal of Periodontology: Volume 89, Issue S1.
This special issue covers the Proceedings of the World Workshop on the Classification of Periodontal and Peri-Implant Diseases.

Guidelines

BSP UK Version of the S3 Treatment Guidelines for Periodontitis
This page provides links to videos and resources associated with the British Society of Periodontology and Implant Dentistry's UK version of the European S3 Treatment Guidelines.
Guidelines for Periodontal Screening and Management of Children and Adolescents under 18 years of Age. 2021.
Guidelines produced in conjunction with the British Society of Periodontology and Implant Dentistry and British Society of Paediatric Dentistry. Updated September 2021.
Newly published guidelines and policy statements
View a feed of guidelines and policy statements covering areas including periodontal therapy, periodontitis, gum disease and more. Access to the feed is via PubMed and is filtered for the last 10 years.
For quick full text access to articles make sure you have logged into the National Digital Library and enabled Libkey.
Periodontal health and disease: A practical guide to reduce the global burden of periodontal disease, 2018.
This advocacy toolkit is produced as part of the Global Periodontal Health Project (GPHP), launched in 2017 with the aim of reducing the global burden of periodontal disease. This toolkit provides background information in a language which you can use with policymakers; a series of key messages; and practical guidance to assist you in designing and implementing successful advocacy campaigns which promote better periodontal health. It concludes with a series of case studies which could serve as examples for the implementation of innovative programmes.
Staging and Grading Periodontists Chart, American Academy, 2019.
The 2017 World Workshop on the Classification of Periodontal and Peri-Implant Diseases and Conditions resulted in a new
classification of periodontitis characterized by a multidimensional staging and grading system. The chart developed as a partnership between the American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) and the European Federation of Periodontology (EFP) provides an overview. Go to https://perio.org/2017wwdc for the complete suite of reviews, case definition papers, and consensus reports
Glossary of Periodontal terms
Hosted by the American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) this searchable glossary has over 1000 terms.

Podcasts

The following are a selection of recent podcasts from the ADA CPD Portal.

For all podcasts on this topic, filter by selecting:

Tags: Periodontics
Type: Audio

Modulation of plaque microbial composition for periodontal disease management
#Dental Files Podcast, 17 May 2024, 20m 12s.
In this interview Prof Reynolds presents current concepts in oral microbiology and its relationship with periodontal health and disease. In this interview, we hear about some key pathogens associated with oral and systemic diseases and explore practical ways to prevent and manage oral dysbiosis.
Periodontics and mental health
#Dental Files Podcast, 19 March 2024, 10m 01s.
In this interview Prof Ivan Darby speaks about the two-way link between periodontitis and anxiety-depression.
Periodontics in general practice
#Dental Files Podcast, 29 May 2023, 13m 47s.
In this interview Dr Steve Cohn talks about how GP’s can provide essential periodontal care to the benefit of their patients, and their practice.
Smile design: how to achieve the optimal gingival margin
#Dental Files Podcast, 1 May 2024, 14m 28s.
In this interview with Dr María Marta Fernández, we learn the importance of the patient’s gingival phenotype, how to assess phenotype, and what implications a patient’s phenotype has for their treatment. We also hear key points of the post-operative instructions that Dr Fernández provides her patients, as well as her post-surgery review process.

Podcasts by other organisaitons:

AAP Podcasts
Visit the American Academy of Periodontology Podcasts on Soundcloud, which are also available via Journal of Periodontology

Webinars

The following webinars are accessible via the ADA CPD Portal.

For all webinars on this topic, filter by selecting:

Tags: Periodontics
Type: Webinar and Video

Antibiotic use in Periodontal Therapy
Presented by Dr Geraldine Moses, 1 November 2019, 53m 42s.
Learning Outcomes:
• Analyse which periodontal conditions warrant antibiotics (usually as an adjunct).
• Implement prescribing protocol(s).
• Assess risks of antibiotic therapy (including adverse reactions and antimicrobial resistance).
• Assess alternatives to antibiotics.
Understanding and applying the Periodontic Classification
Presented by Dr Rjiv Verma, 1 May 2021, 55m 03s.
This interactive webinar will look at the 2017 classification of periodontal disease and its application in general dental practice. It will also cover the use of the FDI patient periodontal screening tool and how it might be used by dentists in their patient materials/communications.

Professional Bodies

The following professional bodies have been mentioned in this guide: