Support @ ADA NDL: Home: Open Access databases and websites

Open Access resources

BioMed Central (BMC) contains high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC Series. BMC is part of Springer Nature.

Click the link below to access the site.

BMC Oral Health
Part of the BioMed Central series. BMC Oral Health is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of the prevention, diagnosis and management of disorders of the mouth, teeth and gums, as well as related molecular genetics, pathophysiology, and epidemiology.

The following links provide information on accessing and using the Cochrane Library.

Note: Cochrane Library systemic reviews are also accessible via the National Digital Library.

Cochrane - Dentistry & Oral Health
A collection of databases containing high quality, in-depth evidence to assist in healthcare decision making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provides peer-reviewed systematic reviews and protocols; information about clinical trials; and a database of clinical answers. This link takes you to the Topic Dentistry & Oral Health which covers Cochrane reviews, Protocols and Clinical Answers.

About Cochrane
This short film introduces you to Cochrane’s work producing credible, accessible health evidence.
Cochrane Library User Guide
The user guide covers access, navigation and different types of, searching. A downloadable copy of the guide is also available.
How to Search in the Cochrane Library
Learn how to effectively search on the Cochrane Library.
Accessing Plain Language Summaries
Learn how to access plain language summaries from within the Cochrane Library platform.
What is a Cochrane Clinical Answer?
Learn about Cochrane Clinica Answer (CCA), what they are, their purpose, where to find them and their main features.
How to apply Cochrane Clinical Answers in the clinical practice
Learn what a Cochrane Clinical Answer (CCA) is and how they can help in clinical scenarios / practice.

To link your Goggle Scholar account to ADA National Digital Library go to the Search and Help Guide for Google Scholar.

Google Scholar
A meta-search engine which provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across a wide variety of disciplines and sources

Click the link below to access the site.

PubMed
The PubMed database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full-text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC)

PubMed FAQs and User Guide
Covers frequently asked questions; searching PubMed; displaying, sorting and navigating; citing, saving and sharing; advanced search; and other tools.

Click the link below to access the site.

Trip Medical Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Click the link below to access the site.

Epistemonikos
Epistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence. It is one of the largest source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence.

Discover and search

Use the search box below to search all subscription resources and a range of Open Access resources, including PubMed Central, on the National Digital Library Discovery Service

Your search results will appear in a new window. You will be required to log into the Discovery Service before you can view your search results.