Skip to Main Content

Home

Medicines information

The following subscription-based medicines databases are available to ADA members:

Recommended Australian journal:

Recommended Australian websites on medicines include:

ADA Members also have access to PharmaAdvice which provides information from Medicines Information Pharmacists to support the safe and effective use of medicines, related to a specific patient or general medicines information.

 

 

The AusDI medicines database by Telstra Health

 

AusDI includes:

  • Independent Drug Monographs: More than 600 monographs authored and curated by the AusDI independent editorial team.
  • Product Information: TGA-registered product information in an easy-to-read format on screen
  • Product Summaries: High-level snapshots of the drug product.
  • Consumer Medicine Information: Comprehensive and up-to-date collection of consumer information to enhance patient education and medicine safety.
  • Therapeutic Class List (ATC).
  • Product Identifier: Assists in identifying an unknown product by using its physical characteristics (e.g. markings, shape, scoring, colour) to search through a comprehensive image database.
  • Interactions and Safety: Helps find potential clinically significant pharmacokinetic drug interactions, duplicate therapy warnings and possible pharmacodynamic shared adverse effects between drug pairs, or potential clinically significant pharmacokinetic drug interactions, complementary medicines interactions and drug-food interactions for a single product.

For further information on each of the AusDI resources and how to search, browse and use aspects of the database, once logged in to AusDI select Help from the top navigation menu.

Keep up-to-date on changes into AusDI by selecting What's New from the top navigation menu.

 

The Australian Medicines Handbook is jointly owned by The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACG), The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia and Australasian Society of Clinical and Experimental Pharmacologists and Toxicologists (ASPECT).

AMH is an important clinical resource for health practitioners concerned with the quality use of medicines. It offers concise, reliable and comprehensive information with easy-to-find comparative drug data allowing users to compare drugs and make informed prescribing choices.

Automatic content updates occur in January and July each year. AMH content is subject to a rolling review process, so in addition to major changes there are literally hundreds of minor revisions each update.

The follow videos are recommended to get you started with using AMH Online: