National Digital Library: Home: Search and Help Guides

Discovery search service

The quickest way to search for subscription and open access electronic resources is from:

Once you've clicked on the above link you'll be required to login.
A new window with the ADA sign in screen will appear.
On the sign in screen add your ADA federal membership number and password.
Click Sign in.
If you've forgotten your password or username click on the reset option.

Note: Log in is required to access subscription resources from this site and the Discovery Service.

In your chosen database:

Type your topic or keywords into the search box and click search.
- More than one keyword can be linked together. Use the Boolean search operator AND - eg: dental practice AND innovation AND management which requires the results to contain all three words in the articles retrieved.
- Another useful technique is the use of quotation marks around your search phrases; e.g, "dental practice management"

See the Search strategies guide for more information.

When your results display, use the filters on the left-hand side to limit your results:
- For example filter by full-text to only show ADA accessible resources.
- When selecting the date range choose a filter such as Last 5 years to ensure the currency of your results.
Select the article title, or View full text button, to link to the journal article in the database where it is held.
Once the article displays, you'll need to locate the PDF download button to save or print that article.

In your chosen database:

Insert the author's surname(s) and the journal article title in the search box.
To access the full text of the journal article:
- select the title or View full text button to link to the journal article in the database.
Once the article displays, locate the PDF button to download, save or print that article. This will appear slightly differently depending on the particular database.